Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

The Enemy is Afraid of Christ In You

Posted by John Smith on March 30, 2012

1Samuel 18:12, 14-15, 29 NKJV  v12 Now Saul was afraid of David, because the LORD was with him, but had departed from Saul. v14-15 And David behaved wisely in all his ways, and the LORD was with him.   Therefore, when Saul saw that he behaved very wisely, he was afraid of him.  v29 and Saul was still more afraid of David. So Saul became David’s enemy continually.

 When I read these verses here in 1 Samuel 18 it reminds me of something that once happened to me, back in 2001.  One late June evening, I was sitting at table in a common area talking to neighbor it the apartment complex we were living in at the time.  Valarie had just walked down to the pool area to get our one year old son I had been floating around the pool and took him home to bathe and put to bed and I struck up a conversation with the man and stayed behind.

The man had been drinking and continued to down a few beers while we spoke.  The topic of conversation quickly turned to the things of God and I began to tell him of God’s goodness and the Gospel of Christ.  He became irate, began to curse and swear, telling me his anger and resentment against God, who he blamed for his wife leaving him for another man.  I explained free will and that it was not God’s will or plan for her to leave and how God longed to heal his pain and fill the void in his heart.  Anger and rage filled his eyes as he overturned the table we sat at, got in my face, grabbed my shirt and threatened to kill me if I didn’t stop talking about God.  I knew that God was with me and His peace enveloped my being.  “You can do what you will to me, I’m not afraid of death.  But it doesn’t change the fact that God loves you and Jesus died for you.”

Enraged he reached back to hit me.  It was at that moment my spiritual eyes were opened and for a moment I could see both in the natural and in the spiritual.  I saw his visage distort into a vile creature almost like a graphic overlay over his natural image.  Then I saw a glowing light from behind me.  He let go of me, stepped a few feet back, covered his face in fear.  Cowering, he began to say, “I’m sorry.  I’m sorry.  I didn’t realize who you were.”  This man who was just threatening to destroy me know cowered in fear and I had done nothing, but follow the leading of the Holy Spirit within me which is the wisest behavior anyone can do.  I am convinced that the devil in him saw Christ in me.

When people recognize Christ in you they will either be attracted to his presence or recoil and fear you.  That is why so many people are venomous to Believers.  It’s not about you, it’s about Christ in you.  They fear the Truth.  They recognize the Truth, but they fear the Truth because they don’t want to change.  They know that the reality of Christ means they can’t go on partaking of the sinful acts they think they enjoy.  In the case of my old neighbor, the devils they’ve invited to join them terrified of Jesus in you.  They remember the public humiliation that the Devil faced at the resurrection of Christ (Colossians 2:15).

He is with you and there is nothing to fear.  Behave wisely.  Allow the Word to transform your life and strive to follow His example in the Word and leading in your heart (Romans 12:2).  Not everyone will like it when you do this and some will turn against you, but you’ll have nothing to fear.  You’ll be confident in who you are in Him and that which you feared will be afraid of you.  Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
