Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

Whose Opinion Really Counts?

Posted by John Smith on May 11, 2012

2 Samuel 1:14 NKJV  So David said to him, “How was it you were not afraid to put forth your hand to destroy the LORD’s anointed?”

David said this to an Amalekite, who came to him with Saul’s royal crown and a bracelet that he wore around his arm as proof that Saul was dead.  This man apparently was rummaging through the battlefield before the Philistines had a chance at hopes to score some choice items from among the dead (1 Samuel 31:8), when he came across Saul.  Now, whether or not Saul was still living is a topic of some debate.  Either Saul was still alive as the Amalekite professed and the Amalekite killed him to spare him torture and humiliation at the hands of the Philistines, or Saul was already dead and the Amalekite embellished the story of their encounter in attempt to gain favor with David and appear more valiant before men.  Regardless of the truth of what transpired, the Amalekite was only thinking of how others would perceive him and did not consider how his actions or professed actions would be considered by God.

David said to him, “Why didn’t you consider what God would think about this?”  The thought of what God might think about killing King Saul or going around and telling everyone he did never crossed this man’s mind.  He thought of how compassionate he may look to the people of Israel.  He thought either David will think I’m kind and compassionate and bless me or he will exalt me and bless me for killing the man who was out to kill him.  The Amalekite considered how others would think of him, but he never considered what God would think.

So many people are terrorized about what others may say or think about them.  We’ve all made a few decisions based on the perceived praise or criticism of others.  When we do we are being led by fear.  Fear of what others will think about us.  When I think about the opinions of those I hold most dear, I can make a list of why I am concerned about what they think about me, but truth be told their opinions really don’t matter.  There is only one opinions of me that matters and that is the Lord’s.  Thank God, He loves me and has accepted me (Ephesians 1:6), and when I fail, He forgives me (1 John 1:9).  It is ok to value the opinions of others.  The Scripture encourages us to seek Godly counsel and wisdom from our pastor and trusted advisors, but when we make decisions based on the perceived approval or disapproval of anyone other than God, then regardless of whether or not our action is right our not our motivation is wrong.

None of us wants to be disapproved of by people in our lives.  We all want to be liked and accepted, but at what cost?  Who are you going to serve?  If you’ve been plagued by the fears of what others think about you, stop it!  Re-asses your priorities.  Who are you really trying to please?  Psalm 118:6 says, “The Lord is on my side, I will not fear. What can man do to me?”  So, make your decisions based on pleasing the Lord and considering what His will is and Fear Not!

 Psalm 56:11 NLT  I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me?

Psalm 118:6 NLT  The LORD is for me, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me

Leave a Reply

 
