Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

Recount His Goodness and Fear Not

Posted by John Smith on June 15, 2012

2 Samuel 22:5-7 NKJV  “When the waves of death surrounded me, The floods of ungodliness made me afraid.  (6)  The sorrows of Sheol surrounded me; The snares of death confronted me.  (7)  In my distress I called upon the LORD, And cried out to my God; He heard my voice from His temple, And my cry entered His ears.

David is now in his latter years and begins to speak the words of Psalm 18, a psalm he wrote to recount God’s goodness and continual faithfulness to him in the midst of his many adversities.  Psalm 18 also contains a prophetic sense regarding the victory and salvation that the coming King would obtain.  I believe that this looking back at God’s faithfulness through his life and forward to the coming of the Christ, comforted and put his soul at peace as he looked at his aging body and thought about the wonders and the unknown of joining his fathers in Paradise.  Let’s look at some of the words he spoke.

2Samuel 22:18-34 NKJV  He delivered me from my strong enemy… (19)…the LORD was my support. (20) He also brought me out… He delivered me because He delighted in me. (21) The Lord rewarded me… He has recompensed me. (29) For you are my lamp, O Lord; The Lord shall enlighten my darkness (30) For by You I can run against a troop; By my God I can leap over a wall (31) …The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him. (33) God is my strength and power…(34)…He sets me on my high places…

Look at all these great things the Lord did for David, and that is just getting started.  David continues saying God strengthened him emotionally and physically, helped him to stand under the pressures of life, enabled him to defeat every circumstance that came against him, protected him again and again and showed him mercy every time he needed it.  Praise God, what a great list.  You know the best part… He’s done all this and more for you.

The fear of the unknown is confusing and horrible foe.  It torments the minds of so many precious people.  No matter the fear or anxiety you may be facing or will face God is with you.  He knows the beginning and the end and His faithfulness is everlasting.  Recount His faithfulness.  Recount His goodness.  Recount His promises.  Recount all that He has done for you.  Your faith will be strengthened, your anxiety will dissipate.  I may not know all that the future holds, but I know He does and will be just as faithful, just as true, and just as present as He has always been.  Recount His goodness and Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
