Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

I Will Not Be Afraid

Posted by John Smith on March 8, 2013

Psalm 3:3-6 KJV But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. (4) I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah. (5) I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me. (6) I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

This Psalm of David was written after he fled from his own son, Absalom, who had mounted a rebellion and a coup again him. David was no stranger to having people chase after him to kill him, but the agony of the betrayal of his son had to have been excruciating. Even though he was fleeing the city and being pursued by militia and mercenaries that once served him, betrayed by loved ones and left not knowing exactly who he could fully trust; David chose to not enter in to fear.

It is David’s relationship with God that gives him the strength to say these remarkable words, “I will not be afraid…” David immediately looked to the Lord and saw God as a protector, a covering, and support in this difficult time. He lifted his voice to God confident that God hears his cries. Then he rested by faith in the faithfulness of God trusting in Him who had protected him from the lion and the bear, delivered Goliath into his hands, kept him from the sword of Saul when Saul pursued him, had encouraged him time and time again, blessed him, and forgave him when he sinned with Bathsheba.

David knew who God was for himself. He had a real relationship with the Lord and knew God was his answer and support. Dave knew God would protect him and encourage him. He had learned that no matter what God was for him, therefore he could boldly say, “even in the face of being surrounded by ten thousands of people that are against me, I will not be afraid.”

Who is the Lord to you? Is He your shield? Is He your glory? Is He the lifter of your head? Do you believe He hears you when you pray? If your answer to the last four questions is “YES!”, then you can lay down and sleep in peace and rise up and say to any circumstance or report, “I will not be afraid.” If you can’t answer yes to those questions, know there is so much more He has for you and you can know Him better than David ever did. Re-read the Gospels and focus on the character and nature of the Lord Jesus. Jesus is all these things to us and if you are a Believer, the Spirit of God is ever present with you in a way David could have never dreamed of. Meditate in His Word, His promises, and who He is until you can say.

Lord, You are my shield. You are my glory. You lift my head and hold it high. When I lift my voice and call to You, You hear me and You answer me. I can lay down and sleep, for You are watching out for me. I am fearless. I will not be afraid. Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
