Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

Choose to Not Fear

Posted by John Smith on March 15, 2013

Psalm 3:3-6 KJV But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. (4) I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah. (5) I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me. (6) I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

“I will not be afraid…” That is a powerful and bold statement.

David indicates here that fearing or not has to do with one will, with ones choice. David did not say that horrible thoughts didn’t come to him. The temptation to get into fear may be present. The feeling of dread may attempt to come on you, but you do not have to take it. David said, “I will not fear…” David didn’t have to fear and neither do you. As you continue to read these posts you will see that this will be a recurring theme especially in the New Testament. Jesus Himself said, “…let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:27)” Jesus commands us to FEAR NOT in that verse, therefore we have to be able to resist fear and not do it.

If you’ll allow me a little re-write with the Scripture, let’s look at it beginning in verse 6 then reading 3-5. I will not be afraid. Even if 10,000s of people, that have set themselves against me and surrounded me, I will not be afraid. For you, O Lord, are my glory and a shield to me, you lift my head up high. I will not be afraid, for you have heard my voice. Yes, you heard me from Your holy hill. I will not be afraid, for you have sustained me and protect me even while I sleep. I will not be afraid. Because David knew God and was confident of His character, will and nature he did not have to fear.

When fearful thoughts come your way, you can take those thought captive (2 Cor 10:5). Philippians 4:6 says, “Be anxious about nothing…” or don’t worry or be concerned about anything (worry / concern is a low level type of fear). Instead we are encouraged to think about good things (Philippians 4:8). Staying our minds on the good things of God defends our minds and hearts from fearful thoughts and allows us to stand like David and say, “I will not be afraid.” I know it is not always easy, but you can do it. You can choose what you will think on and what you say. When you start to feel anxious or fearful: pray (Philippians 4:6), think and say good things (Philippians 4:8), and stay steady till the fear subsides. You have a choice. You can choose to FEAR NOT!

Philippians 4:8 NKJV Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

Leave a Reply

 
