Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

126. The Lord is the Strength of my life; Of Whom Shall I be Afraid

Posted by John Smith on April 19, 2013

Psalm 27:1 NKJV  The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?  The LORD is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?

Psalm 27:1 NLT  The LORD is my light and my salvation—so why should I be afraid?  The LORD is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should I tremble?

Psalm 27:1 MSG  Light, space, zest– that’s GOD!  So, with him on my side I’m fearless, afraid of no one and nothing.

We serve an amazing God, who desires to be the support of our life.  David’s confidence in the strength and support of God gave him the confidence to know there was nothing to fear.  No matter how stressful the situation or daunting the path may be before you, if God is the strength and support of your life what is there to fear?

The word strength used here refers to a place of: means, safety, protection, and refuge.  It indicates a mighty stronghold with abundant defenses and completely stocked with provisions.  Reading the definition makes me think of the pictures I’ve seen of nuclear fallout shelters that are fully stocked with provisions for families to wait out nuclear attack, and sustain them for the years to follow while the air is cleared from radiation.  Today, some people have safe rooms to keep them from home invasions or other events.  I’m not sure how practical or realistic the 50’s fallout shelters were.  Nor do I think many people can afford the armored safe rooms portrayed in the movies.  But God is an incredible and unshakeable fortress of protection and provision, so why should one tremble?

Countless times in Scripture the Lord God is referred to as a dwelling place, a shelter, a rock, a fortress, habitation, etc…  We are repeatedly are called to dwell and take up residence in the secret place of the Most High where He can be our mighty fortress and tower of protection.  You see it doesn’t do you any good to have a safe room or fallout shelter if you aren’t in it or can’t get to it when trouble comes.  Thankfully, we can live in Him all the time.  Everywhere we go we can stay in Him and in that place of safety.  We can go to work and stay there.  We can go to the store and stay in Him.  When circumstances are attacking our health, our emotions, our safety, or our wallets we don’t have to fret, worry or fear.

We serve an amazing God with a stockpile of goodness, provision and protection for you and me.  The key is to continually dwell in Him by following his Word and His Spirit.  Allow Him to be your strength, your support and your fortress.  Then you can lift your voice and say, “God is on my side.  I’m fearless; afraid of no one and nothing.  He is my means, safety, protection and refuge.  Of whom shall I be afraid?”  FEAR NOT!

Leave a Reply

 
