Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

127. Fearless When All Hell Breaks Loose

Posted by John Smith on April 26, 2013

Psalm 27:3 NKJV  Though an army may encamp against me, My heart shall not fear; Though war may rise against me, In this I will be confident.

Psalm 27:3 MSG  When besieged, I’m calm as a baby. When all hell breaks loose, I’m collected and cool.

Though an army may encamp against me, My heart shall not fear (NKJV).  Wow, that’s incredible.  You do not have to fear.  In the midst of horrific and terrifying circumstances we do not have to fear.  You don’t have to sweat any situation.

Why wouldn’t you be afraid?  It may seem unlikely for most to have a literal army at their front door, but what about an enemy like unemployment.  In the summer of 2004, I faced this kind of an army.  Iit was armed with arrows of uncertainty and daggers of doubt.

In 2003, my precious daughter and 2nd child was born.  My wife left a rapidly ascending professional career to stay at home with our 3 year old son and new born daughter, while I set out to find a job where I could support our family and still continue working and growing in ministry.  I don’t want to get too bogged down here so let me cut to the chase.  I took a contract employee job working for the Post Office.  It was hourly pay, no benefits, no sick days, no time off, no holidays off (I actually worked Thanksgiving and Christmas).  But I did have Sundays off.  During the week I got off by 6:30 PM which left me just enough time to make it to our church service, change my clothes, clean my face and step on the platform to help sing or preach at the 7 PM service.

In January of 2004, I requested one week off in June to attend Faith Family Conference for FCF Int’l the organization I am credentialed with.  Even though it was without pay I was granted it.  However, two weeks prior to the conference I was told it was a mistake and I could not have the time off.  I gave them notice and left for the conference unemployed.

One week later the job search began.  Weeks rolled by and I was still unemployed.  Finances were tight when I worked at the Post Office.  I had barely been making half of what my wife had been making.  I had promised her she could stay at home and through the Lord I knew provision would come.  Without a job, we had no money for groceries other than the WIC coupons we received for milk, eggs, cheese, and peanut butter for my wife and kids.  The army of fear camped out and began to lay siege against me.  The fear of failing my wife and kids, having to sell our house move back into a tiny apartment and step down at that church we had just helped to start a few months prior hung heavy around my neck and began to erode my confidence in the Lord.  Faith and fear don’t coexist together all that well.  It’s like a variation of displacement theory.  As more fear is allowed to be poured in the vessel of our hearts and minds; then faith is displaced out.  Praise God the converse is also true.

The 5th verse of Psalm 27 says, “…in time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; In the secret place…He shall set me high upon a rock.”  Knowing my faith and confidence was rapidly being replaced with fear and doubt, my wife and I began doubling our prayer efforts filling our hearts, minds, and mouths with His Word of provision.  Our mentors and pastors were also strengthening our faith with encouraging words and prayers.  The tide had turned.  Faith was being poured in and had begun to drive the fear out.  Confidence in His faithfulness returned as I meditated on His Word and past faithfulness to our family.  God had already shown Himself far superior to financial circumstances in our lives before.  We had seen how He had delivered us and others through His Word.  I allowed His peace and calm to surround me and comfort me again.  I knew no matter what happened He was with me and I had nothing to fear.  As soon as that shift occurred in my mind and in my heart I got called for an interview.  I miraculously got a great job, providing great benefits, working fewer hours than the previous job allowing me spend more time focusing on ministry.

When we keep our mind stayed on Him and trust in the faithfulness of our faithful Lord, we have nothing to fear.  In times of trouble He will hide us, protect us and bring us though putting us high upon the Rock.  It doesn’t matter the enemy camped against you; unemployment, debt, disease, or people.  YOU do not have to fear.  God is with you.  When you become confident that He is for you and with you, fear will leave and you will be fearless even when all hell breaks loose.  FEAR NOT!

One Response to “127. Fearless When All Hell Breaks Loose”

  1. catmarcott said

    Amen John, the Lord is our refuge. In Him, we have nothing to fear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
