Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

130. Fear Not! You Can Trust in the Lord

Posted by John Smith on May 17, 2013

Psalm 31:13 NKJV  For I hear the slander of many; Fear is on every side; While they take counsel together against me, They scheme to take away my life.

If you’ve ever found yourself in a predicament where you aren’t sure who you can turn to or who you can trust, then you might be able to identify with David here.  David felt surrounded by fear.  Every alternative and every option that he could think was met with insecurity.  Every person whom he thought about turning to triggered fear.  He had been hearing the slanderous rumors being spread about him and wasn’t sure who he could trust.  The 11th and 12th verses tell us many of his “friends” ridiculed, scorned and shamed him.  His acquaintances avoided him and even ran from him in fear that they may be associated as being with him.  He was “forgotten” or ignored and shunned by those he had honored even going out of his way to help, that should have remembered they friend in his time of need.  Now, I’m sure there were a number of people that David could have turned to who would have been there for him.  But having just been betrayed by the Ziphites (the inhabitants of Ziph a city of the tribe of Judah, the same tribe as David), who reported to Saul where David could be found, he found himself doubting all human sources.

Thankfully, David knew when he in his human wisdom and understanding was at a loss, that he could always turn to God.  Throughout this Psalm, David records his confidence and trust in God saying, In You, O LORD, I put my trust…You are my rock and my fortress; Therefore, for Your name’s sake, Lead me and guide me… You are my strength… You have redeemed me, O LORD God of truth… I trust in the LORD…You have not shut me up into the hand of the enemy; You have set my feet in a wide place… I trust in You, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”… Oh, how great is Your goodness…He has shown me His marvelous kindness… You heard the voice of my supplications when I cried out to You… Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the LORD.

When it seems like everything and everyone is against you, be assured that the Lord is on your side.  If you aren’t sure who you can trust, know that you can trust Him and put your hope in Him.  He will lead you and guide through the storm.  He will take you to people you can trust.  David saw the Lord as totally dependable.  How do you see Him?

Still can’t relate.  Your situation may not be quite as dire as David’s.  I must admit it has been a while since I’ve had people actually physically out to harm me.  But we’ve all found ourselves in situations where we don’t want to make a mistake.  Situations where we fear failing and are not sure of what to do or who we can or should trust for guidance.  You can always trust in the Lord.  Look to Him and allow him to lead you and guide through the situation and to those who are there whom you can trust.  When fear surrounds you and feels like it is closing in, be of good courage.  He shall strengthen your heart.  Keep your hope and trust in Him and Fear Not!

 

Leave a Reply

 
