Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

138. Divine Deputies

Posted by John Smith on July 12, 2013

Psalms 34:4 NKJV  I sought the LORD, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears

 Psalms 34:7-8 NKJV  The angel of the LORD encamps all around those who fear Him, And delivers them.  (8)  Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good; Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!

Glory to God!  We have been delivered from all our fears.

The 7th verse of the 34th Psalm says, “The angel of the Lord encamps all around those who fear Him, and delivers them.”  Fear in this verse isn’t talking about being frightened of God; it is talking about reverencing Him and maintaining a sense of awe in regards to who He is.  In fact the primitive root of that word used here includes: standing in awe, awesome acts, and showing reverence in their definition (yare H3372a Strong’s).  When we revere God, the angel of the Lord encamps all around us and delivers us.

Commentators differ regarding whether this is referring to THE Angel of the Lord (referring to the uncreated, pre-incarnate nature of Jesus) or regular created angel(s) or messenger(s) of God dispatched from the Throne.  According to Strong’s Concordance, the root meaning refers to a dispatch as of deputy(s) encamping around us as we reverence Him.

Living in the South West (Tucson, AZ) it paints me the picture of a heavenly regiment of Divine Deputies.  They’re circling their heavenly wagons around the good citizens of God’s Kingdom, having been sent to protect and deliver them safely to their desired destination free from fears of the effects of enemy attack.  Oh, taste and see His goodness.

Having a rootin’, tootin’, shootin’ band of Divine Deputies on your team that hearken (listen) to the voice of His Word (Psalm 103:20, Hebrews 1:14) should make any one stand up an inch or two taller with boldness.  You are His Children (Romans 8:15-16) and Holy Representatives here on earth (2 Corinthians 5:20).  His Word in your mouth yields the same weight as in His and those Divine Deputies are commissioned to hang around you when you reverence Him.  I picture them all getting excited, “ye-hawing”, kicking their Angel boots up in the air and shooting off a few rounds from their pearl handled pistols, as they glorify and revere Him with you.

The phrase, “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is Good…” is an invitation to join in.  Let’s respond to His invitation by taking a few moments to stand in awe and reverence who He is.  Then know you can be confident because your Divine Deputies have circled the wagons.  Fear Not!

I’ll help you get started…
Lord, I reverence you right now.  You are the Lord, My God and I stand amazed at your creation.  I stand amazed at your great and amazing Love for me.  I love you and honor you here and now.  Jesus, I love you.  You are for me. You who spoke the worlds into existence, have called me by name.  Who can be against me?  Thank you for delivering me from all my fears…

2 Responses to “138. Divine Deputies”

  1. Eric said

    I love that verse! “El ángel de Jehová acampa alrededor de los que le temen, y los defiende.” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
