Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

147. In God I Have Put My Trust. I Will Not Fear!

Posted by John Smith on September 13, 2013

Psalms 56:3-4 NKJV  Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.  (4)  In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?

 When you begin to become anxious or afraid what do you do?  Do you travel do the “What if” trails?  Do you become mentally paralyzed unable to think about what to do next?  Do you practice denial and avoidance to the reality of the fear inducing thought or circumstance?  Or do you trust in the Lord.  Trusting in the Lord is vital in order to take thoughts captive, ask our Father for wisdom (James 1:5) and knowing you have received, and to look at the fearful mountain of circumstance commanding it to move.  Whenever you experience anxiety and fear what will you do?

David said whenever he experienced fear he trusted in God.  Then he rejoiced and praised the Word of God.  David had great confidence and respect in the Word and promises of God.  Those promises in the Word regarding his situation and what God had said became his praises.  The passage goes on to say in the second part of verse 4 that now having put his trust in God, “I will not fear.”

Let’s look at this one more time.  David said, “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.”  Literally it says, “The day I am afraid…”  That means in the moment as soon as fear rises its head I turn to God and begin to put my trust in Him.  The Message Bible reads, “When I get really afraid I come to you in trust.”  This seems to show us that at that moment when the fear comes that David recognized that he wasn’t trusting in God.  In essence David is saying…fear just hit me, BUT I will (future tense) trust in You, Lord.

Note that David didn’t just stop there.  NO!  David did something to begin to trust God.  He began to praise the unfailing promises of God.  He began to praise His Word.  Praise (hâlal) according to Strong’s means to boast, make a show, clamor, celebrate, make yourself foolish about, and give in marriage.  He read, said, sang, shouted, rejoiced, danced, and completely gave himself just like one does to their spouse in a marriage to the WORD of God’s faithful promises.  It was his praise that moved him from, “I will trust in You (God)” to, “In God I have put my trust; I will not fear.

Whenever fear, doubt, sickness, or evil reports come your way don’t hesitate (Deut 20:34 see Don’t Hesitate and You Will Fear Not!).  Immediately determine to trust our Father.  Then go back to the Word.  Find His promises and meditate and rejoice on them until you are back in a place where your confidence, faith and trust in Him are to the level where you can boldly declare, “In God I have put my trust; I will not fear.”  Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
