Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

152. Call Out to God and Fear Not

Posted by John Smith on October 18, 2013

Psalms 69:1-2 NLT  Save me, O God, for the floodwaters are up to my neck.  (2)  Deeper and deeper I sink into the mire; I can’t find a foothold. I am in deep water, and the floods overwhelm me.

Psalms 69:14-17 NLT  Rescue me from the mud; don’t let me sink any deeper! Save me from those who hate me, and pull me from these deep waters.  (15)  Don’t let the floods overwhelm me, or the deep waters swallow me, or the pit of death devour me.  (16)  Answer my prayers, O LORD, for Your unfailing love is wonderful. Take care of me, for Your mercy is so plentiful.  (17)  Don’t hide from Your servant; answer me quickly, for I am in deep trouble!

Psalms 69:32-33 NLT  The humble will see their God at work and be glad. Let all who seek God’s help be encouraged.  (33)  For the LORD hears the cries of the needy; He does not despise His imprisoned people.

 Have you ever felt like your head was just barely above water and you were slowly sinking deeper?  Sure you have.  We all have at one time or another and that is a stressful and can be a terrifying time.  You keep trying to get a foothold and just feel like your feet are slipping out from under you.  I want you to know that God doesn’t want us to go under.  He hears your cries.  Since He hears us we can take heart.

 1 John 5:15 NKJV  And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.

 The key is He is our Help and the source we are to run to.  Your faith and confidence is to be in Him.  I’ve learned that although most Christians would agree with that statement not all of them live that way.  I’ve received countless calls through the years from people in desperation and fear about their circumstances.  They received exorbitant unexpected medical bills.  Cars have broken down and they can’t afford repairs.  Government assistance programs suddenly cut them off and their pantries are bare.  Etc.  These are horrible circumstances and these precious people have called in a panic and are afraid.  They have no idea what to do… so they call me.  To me that is the truly scary part.

Now thank God they called someone and thought of a church or a minister, but when I finally get them calmed down a bit and ask them if they’ve prayed and talked to their Heavenly Father about it yet, they almost always say, “No.”  I’m not saying you should never call your pastor, your church, or friends in time of need.  I am trying to tell you that the Throne of God and His Word needs to be our first stop.  (I think that if more people would go there first they’d find their answers and get out of their mess a whole lot faster.)

Praise God over the years I’ve had the privilege to give divine counsel and through the rope of His Word help some folk to grab a hold by faith and walk with them through their circumstances and back up on shore.  But the reality is people don’t turn to God first is because they don’t see Him as their every present HELP in their time of need.  They are looking to the Government, churches, pastors, and other organization and people to ‘fix’ their circumstance when all most of us can do is offer a Band-Aid.  Thankfully there are some great churches and ministers that also help people get over onto the Word of God for themselves and teach them how to turn to Him and Believe God in the midst of their difficulties.  Until people begin to do this they will repeatedly find themselves in the same circumstances.  We can’t do it alone and He may even direct you to whom you should call, but turn to Him first.  Put your trust in Him and get God involved from the beginning.  He is our ever present help and He hears your cry.  Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
