Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

157. He Left the Light on For You

Posted by John Smith on November 22, 2013

Psalm 91:5  You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day,

When I was a child I was afraid of the dark.  Even in my teens I still was terrified to be alone in the dark of night.

I gave my life to the Lord and was born again when I was 13 years old watching the 700 club.  Coincidentally, the next week I was invited by a neighbor to attend a Tuesday night home group she hosted and I began attending immediately.  Now when I say neighbor you have to understand that we lived out in the country on a privately maintained road with no street lights.   The Hoovers lived about .25 miles down the road and there was only one house, which was set way back in the woods off the road, between theirs and my parents.  When the meetings were over it was dark.

For some reason I never remembered to take a flashlight and only thought about it when I left their home.  As I made my way down the dirt and rock road through thick overgrown woods that winded down one hill then turned up another, terror would begin to set in especially when there was little to no moon and clouds blocked any stars that could be seen through the wooded canopy.  Frightened and panicked I trudged on until I made my way up the hill and rounded a corner where I could see the one solitary light on the pitch dark road.  The light on the back door of my parent’s house about 100 yards away.  I’d take off running as quickly as I could, which being rather portly at the time wasn’t very fast, until I reached the safety of the light and of my parent’s house.  My Dad always left the light on for me.

I’ve learned a few things since them.  One of them is I don’t have to be afraid of the dark in the natural.  Another is to remember flashlights (I keep at least on in our cars and next to my bed at all times).  But I’ve also learned that I don’t have to fear the dark seasons of life where it seems that everything is trying to close in on me.  I don’t have to fear because like my natural father my Heavenly Father always leaves the light on for me.  What’s more I abide in Him and dwell in the secret place of the Most High (Psalm 91:1).  “He is my refuge and my fortress… (Psalm 91:2).”  I have found my home in Him and He lives in me.  The safety of His light always shines around me.  All I have to do is stay in Him and Walk in His light (Isaiah 2:5, Ephesians 5:8, 1 John 1:7).

Walk in His light.  You abide in Him and carry the light of His presence with you everywhere you go.  That’s even better than Motel 6.  He’ll leave the light on for you and you can take it everywhere you go.  Fear Not!

One Response to “157. He Left the Light on For You”

  1. […] potentially fearful circumstances and enemies lurking in the darkness. Remember Psalm 91:5 (posts #157, #158, #159) , we are not afraid of the terrors by […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
