Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

158. Night Terrors

Posted by John Smith on November 29, 2013

Psalm 91:5  You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day,

I remember in my childhood I would regularly be awakened in the night in tremendous fear.  I would get up and run around the house shrieking in terror and not be able to control myself or calm down.  I was caught somewhere between a dream state and being awake.  I could see the natural surroundings of my house and I could see the images of my dreams that caused my fear.  My dad would often have to just grab a hold of me and hold me until I came out of it and became more aware and alert that I was ok and fully awake.  It was torment.  People call them “Night Terrors”.

This periodically occurred until I was 13 years old and I gave my life to the Lord.  Since that time I have never had this experience again.  God just supernaturally freed me from this torment when I was born again.

Now I have had dreams that have startled me and awoken me with a jolt, but I’ve never experience that kind of torment in the night again.  I’ve also learned a number of things from God’s Word about our sleep to be precious and sweet (Proverbs 3:24, Psalm 4:8, Psalm 127:2, Daniel 6:16-22) and see that it is His will for us.  I’ve had the privilege of sharing those Scriptures with others who have experienced Night Terrors inspiring faith in them and then pray for them.  God is faithful and always responds to prayers of faith.  I have received testimonies from parents of children I’ve prayed for and from adults I’ve ministered to that they began to sleep sweetly and free from the terrors of night.

Maybe you don’t have “Night Terrors” but do you ever wake up in the middle of the night with fear and concern for the affairs of daily life?  Waking up in the night with a burden to pray is one thing.  Waking up with worry, panicked and afraid about things is another.  Whether it be about finances, health, safety, a job, or your kids (Job 1:5).  You don’t have to be afraid.  Say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”  In Him and in the secret place of His presence there is nothing to fear (Psalm 91:1-4).  No matter what is going on in life you don’t have to fear and can lie down in peace having sweet sleep.  Fear Not!

Proverbs 3:24 NKJV  When you lie down, you will not be afraid; Yes, you will lie down and your sleep will be sweet.

Psalms 4:8 NKJV  I will both lie down in peace, and sleep; For You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

 Psalms 127:2 NKJV  …He gives His beloved sleep.

One Response to “158. Night Terrors”

  1. […] fearful circumstances and enemies lurking in the darkness. Remember Psalm 91:5 (posts #157, #158, #159) , we are not afraid of the terrors by […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
