Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

163. You Shall Not be Afraid of the Destruction that Lays Waste at Noonday

Posted by John Smith on January 3, 2014

Psalm 91:5-6 NKJV  You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day,  (6)  Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.

Noonday refers to a time of day were things are most visible.  This is talking about some sort of devastation that is happening openly, something that isn’t trying to hide.  It could be a form of sickness that is going around and knocking everybody out or it could be civil unrest and the destruction following that we see happening throughout the world.

A few years ago, we had the great H1N1 ‘scare’.  People were getting gravely ill with this strain of the flu and some, particularly in other nations were even dying.  I was traveling a lot to Mexico at the time and people constantly were asking me if I was afraid of getting it.  Statistically there really weren’t epidemic numbers of cases but the media sure made it feel that way and I spoke with a lot of people who were afraid of this destruction “laying waste” or at least seemingly so on the media.

Today it is fears about Syria, Egypt, Iran, North Korea, Mexican Drug Cartels, as well as natural disasters like tornadoes, hurricanes, typhoons, snow storms, flooding, and earthquakes happening all around the world.  We see wars and hear of rumors of wars.  We see pictures of destruction and devastation all around us.

He who trusts in God has no need to fear of any of these things and can remain in peace even with turmoil happening openly all around them.  Make your shelter in Him and stay in the peace He has provided.  In John 14:27, Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  That word troubled means agitated or uncertain but you can stay calm and rest in His peace.  Jesus said so.  In fact, Jesus commands us to.  He says, “Don’t allow your heart to be agitated or uncertain and don’t allow yourself to get into fear.”  Uncertainty will get you out of peace and into fear in a hurry.  However you can be certain of some things and keeping your mind on what is CERTAIN will keep you in His peace.

What’s going to happen in Syria?  What about all the drug wars?  When is the big one going to hit?  Will this year’s tornadoes and snow storms be more devastating than ever before?  I don’t know and I don’t have to.  It’s what I know for certain that keeps me in His peace.  I know for certain I’m born again (Romans 10:9-10,13; Romans 8:16).  I know health and healing belong to me (Isaiah 53:4-5, Acts 10:38, 1 Peter 2:24).  I know He is faithful and never lies (Titus 1:2; Hebrews 6:18; Hebrews 11:11).  I know His Word is Truth (John 1:14, John 17:17, Ephesians 1:13).  We could go on and on and on, but I think you get the point.  Keep your mind stayed on the Word.  Keep it on what is absolute and certain.  Doing so will keep you in His peace and empower you to walk in your fearless nature In Him.

2 Responses to “163. You Shall Not be Afraid of the Destruction that Lays Waste at Noonday”

  1. Judy said

    Great, John! Your postings just get stronger and stronger. Can’t wait to read your book! Could you please pray that I will have no fear and strong faith to receive healing for severe pain and stiffness in my hip (a new problem) and in my knee? Your postings help too! Thank you! Blessings and Prayers!

    Like

    • John Smith said

      I am pleased that they have been a blessing, Judy. Valarie and I prayed this morning for your hip and knee. All our love with faith from us, God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ (Eph 6:23). Living free from fear this brand new year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

 
