Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

169. Don’t Push the RED BUTTON

Posted by John Smith on February 14, 2014

Psalms 118:5-6 NKJV  I called on the LORD in distress; The LORD answered me and set me in a broad place.  (6)  The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?

Psalms 118:5-6 MSG  Pushed to the wall, I called to GOD; from the wide open spaces, He answered.  (6)  GOD’s now at my side and I’m not afraid; who would dare lay a hand on me?

I really like the way the Message Bible reads here.  It has some attitude.  It’s bold and that is exactly the heart of this verse.  Unfortunately that is not the attitude of fearless confidence that many of God’s children have.  They shudder under pressure and flinch in circumstances without calling on the Lord in their distress and without acknowledging His ongoing presence in their lives or their availability to His ever present protection.

One day when I was a young child around four or five years old, my family was at the mall in Terre Haute, Indiana where I grew up.  I say my family and I imagine that they were all there because I can’t imagine just my Dad and I, just the two of us, being there alone.  I’m sure at least my Mom and or Sister and Brother were with us, but who was with us is really inconsequential because what I do remember is really the point.

We were in the Roots Department Store, which has long since been replaced.  Someone had to have been with us, because I wandered off and found the escalators.  The way the stairs kept moving was such a marvelous sight to me.  I loved watching the stairs move the people up and down between floors only to disappear into the floor when they reached the end.  That sight amused me greatly until I saw what seemed like a HUGE RED BUTTON located on the side of the “magical” stairs.

Needless to say the temptation was too much for the young me and I pushed it.  The escalator instantly stopped and began making an alarm sound.  Now panicked, I froze and imagine I had a deer in headlights kind of look on my face, though I really don’t know.  Then all of a sudden a security guard, who to 4 or 5 year old me was a giant of a man and began to yell at me.  Terrified, I remained frozen stiff.  Out of nowhere it seemed as if my Dad instantly appeared between the guard and me.  All my fear melted away and I instantly knew I was safe.  With my Dad by my side I had nothing to fear.  My Father was inches from His face and with fire in his eyes told him, “Don’t you EVER speak that way to my boy again.”  Then he picked me up and said, “C’mon son.  Come with me.”

Now of course, my Dad talked to me and educated me about keeping my hands to myself and off of big red buttons and everything else in stores that I have no business touching.  A lesson I well learned.  But even greater was the other lesson I learned.  With him by my side, I was not afraid and you’d better not touch me or even speak crossly with me.

Glory to God!  How much more so with our Heavenly Father.  It doesn’t matter how far in the corner you are or how big the enemy or circumstance is.  When you’re pushed to the wall, call out to your Heavenly Father.  Instantly, He’ll be by your side and you’ll have nothing to fear.  Who would dare lay a hand on you then?

 Psalms 118:5-6 MSG  Pushed to the wall, I called to GOD; from the wide open spaces, He answered.  (6)  GOD’s now at my side and I’m not afraid; who would dare lay a hand on me?

Leave a Reply

 
