Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

172. Who Is Your Help?

Posted by John Smith on March 7, 2014

Psalms 121:1-8 NKJV  I will lift up my eyes to the hills— From whence comes my help?  (2)  My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.  (3)  He will not allow your foot to be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber.  (4)  Behold, He who keeps Israel Shall neither slumber nor sleep.  (5)  The LORD is your keeper; The LORD is your shade at your right hand.  (6)  The sun shall not strike you by day, Nor the moon by night.  (7)  The LORD shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul.  (8)  The LORD shall preserve your going out and your coming in From this time forth, and even forevermore.

I have had a lot of help throughout my life.  I’ve had teachers help me when I’ve struggled with a difficult subject in school.  I’ve had people help me carry things (refrigerators, couches, furniture) I couldn’t manage by myself.  And I’ve had people help talk me through decisions that I labored over till I discovered what I needed to do.  I’m grateful for the hundreds of people that have helped me in some way over the years, but most of all I am thankful for the Lord.  He is my help when nobody else can.

Over and over in Scripture, God says He is our help, our helper, there to help and provide assistance.  Just search the words help, helped, and helper in a concordance and then scan through how many of the verses pertain to the Lord helping us.  He even goes as far as calling Himself the Helper (John 14:16, 26; John 15:26; John 16:7).  He is our help.

His emphasis on being an ever present help is so that we will indeed look to HIM in the midst of our trials and circumstances.  He wants you to be convinced that He is for YOU (Rom 8:31-32).  You probably ought to say that right now.  “God is for me.  He is my ever present help.”

Once we become convinced that He really is for us and willing to help us the moment we look to Him a new confidence will arise.  Once you are convinced He is YOUR help there is no need to fear any longer.  In fact 5 times in the Scripture God reminds us not to fear because it is He, Himself that is our help.  Who is your help?  Look to the Lord; Make Him your Help and Fear Not!

 Isa_41:10  Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

Isa_41:13  For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’

Isa_41:14  “Fear not, you worm Jacob, You men of Israel! I will help you,” says the LORD And your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.

Isa_44:2  Thus says the LORD who made you And formed you from the womb, who will help you: ‘Fear not, O Jacob My servant; And you, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen.

Heb_13:6  So we may boldly say: “THE LORD IS MY HELPER; I WILL NOT FEAR. WHAT CAN MAN DO TO ME?”

Leave a Reply

 
