Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

261. Don’t be Afraid of Their Faces 2

Posted by John Smith on December 18, 2015

Ezekiel 3:9 NLT I have made your forehead as hard as the hardest rock! So don’t be afraid of them or fear their angry looks, even though they are rebels.”

There I was alone conducting a full men’s jail service, with people mean muggin’ me (looking angrily at me) through worship, when the Lord told me that there was someone there who wanted to believe, but the Gospel just seemed too good to be true. Though I thought about bailing on the service and calling the guards to come get them. I told them what the Lord said and offered to pray for whoever that was, telling them Jesus was alive and I could prove it. One man lifted his right hand and I had him stand up and come forward.

When he stood up, I had another fearful thought attack my mind. He was at least 6’6” and had to have been a solid 300 lbs. His head, neck and arms were all covered with various ugly tattoos of Arian symbols. I thought, Lord you’d better show up or I think I’m gonna be hurting here. Praise God for a forehead of flint coming from Holy Ghost boldness as I asked him if I could lay my hand on him and pray. He agreed. I let him know that when I did, the Lord would prove to him that Jesus was alive and real. After praying for a few moments in the Spirit to the Lord, I laid my hand on his chest and thanked the Lord for showing Himself alive and true to the man. Then it happened, that great big monster of a man began to weep uncontrollably. Tears and mucus ran down his face. That big ole’ guy was crying like a little kid that fell off his bike. I certainly had no thoughts of fear or intimidation now.

I led him to the Lord and asked him what happened. Still overcome with much emotion, he told me that he couldn’t explain it other than it was like feeling love all over and through him, like he had been hugged by love itself. He had. Then we had church. A number of men gave their lives to the Lord, made rededications and were filled with the Holy Spirit with the evidence of speaking in tongues. I put my guitar back on and we had one humdinger of a service after that.

None of that would have happened, if I’d allowed fear to stop me. Their angry faces certainly weren’t welcoming and when that man stood up looking for proof that the Gospel was true that rubber meets the road moment can cause you to gulp. But God has given you what you need to endure whatever “scary” situation is before you. You can put your head down and plow through if you need to. The world needs the message of Christ and we can’t allow a little discomfort and fear keep us from fulfilling our call and being the epistles of Christ love that we have been called to be. God told Ezekiel, He gave him a forehead to endure the slander, persecution, and hate that would attempt to bind him in fear, and He’s given you the love of God in your heart and His compassion for broken humanity along with a hard head to get the job done. Fear Not!.

Leave a Reply

 
