Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

275. Embrace your God given vision and Fear Not!

Posted by John Smith on March 25, 2016

Daniel 8:16-19 AMP  And I heard a man’s voice between the banks of the [river] Ulai which called and said, Gabriel, make this man [Daniel] understand the vision. [Dan. 9:21; Luke 1:19, 26.]  (17)  So he came near where I stood, and when he came, I was frightened and fell on my face. But he said to me, Understand, O son of man, for the [fulfillment of the] vision belongs to [events that shall occur in] the time of the end.  (18)  Now as he [Gabriel] was speaking with me, I fell stunned and in deep unconsciousness with my face to the ground; but he touched me and set me upright [where I had stood].  (19)  And he said, Behold, I will make you know what will be in the latter time of the indignation [of God upon the ungodly], for it has to do with the time of the end.

Daniel had seen a vision that left him stupefied, confused, and afraid (Dan 8:15). Then he hears a voice telling the angel Gabriel to make him understand the vision and is doubly afraid. Partly because Gabriel is apparently an intimidating sight to behold (Zacharias also fell experienced fear when he saw him in Luke 1:12), but more so because he feared understanding the horror he saw in his vision and what this would mean for him and his people.

Daniel knew that God wouldn’t just show him this vision nor send Gabriel to interpret it for him without having a specific purpose. Besides just the fear of the vision and the situation, Daniel feared what it meant for him. He was now responsible to write and share this with others to inform them and educate them of things he wasn’t even sure he understood. I don’t personally know anyone that has had this graphic of visions from God in their calling or service (certainly the apostle Paul would be one (Acts 8)), but I know many who have been afraid of the visions for life and ministry that they have received. Geez, I’m one of them. It is a humbling and terrifying thing to be asked, invited, or told by God to do something. For me… I know how bad I can mess up breakfast, let alone projects, churches, and people that He’s asking me to minister to or accomplish. One might be overwhelmed by the task and certainly have a Holy Fear for it, but you don’t have to be afraid of the actual doing.

Don’t fear what God has called you to do or the vision that He’s given you. Embrace it! There is excitement that comes when you accept/embrace the vision God gives. That doesn’t mean it isn’t overwhelming. I regularly have to stop and take a deep breathe sometimes if I start thinking too far ahead of the present phase of what He’s given me to do, but the moment you decide to step into what God is showing you and calling you to do or proclaim is a liberating moment that you begin a new and exciting journey with Him. Embrace your God given vision and Fear Not!

Leave a Reply

 
