Fearless Fridays

Living Free From Fear

  • Fearless Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear

    Fearles Psalm 34:4 Living Free From Fear Book

    Order a copy from Amazon

  • Fearless

    Fearless

    Click Here for Video Message on Your Fearless Nature In Christ

302. Don’t Fear the Lord Moving In Your Life

Posted by John Smith on September 30, 2016

faithfearMatthew 14:25-27 NKJV Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea. (26) And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear. (27) But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”

Early one morning after sending His disciples on a boat without Him hours before, Jesus unexpectedly shows up in a remarkable way that REALLY took the disciples by surprise. They weren’t afraid of JESUS, but they were afraid because they of how He showed up and their unbelief in how it was possible.

Will you give the Lord permission to move in your life in a way that is unexpected?

Sometimes in our lives the Lord shows up and begins to do things in a way we didn’t expect. The disciples certainly expected Him to get to the other side of the sea, but they never imagined Him walk on the water to get there. Many times we pray and believe God to move in situations in our lives, meet a need, heal, reach a loved one, etc… and we have our own notions about how He should or is going to do something. Then when He begins to move in our situation, our life, our service or in us we freak out and say, “that can’t be God” because He is moving in a way we didn’t expect and never could imagine.

One time while walking to the entrance of a grocery store to get some supplies for dinner, right out of the blue and very unexpectedly the Lord told me to go minister to a worker on break and told me to tell them that their friend who died the night before was with the Lord and God just wanted them to know not to worry and that He loved them. WHAT?! I wasn’t sure what to do and I was a bit scared. I thought, “Lord, is that you?” even though I knew His voice and recognized that it was Him speaking to me. You see He spoke to me and though I know He is with us all the time by His Spirit, I certainly wasn’t expecting Him to “show up” at the grocery store and want me to do something. I was afraid of being wrong. I was afraid of being embarrassed. And I was afraid of the idea that God really might just use me at any moment if I’d make myself available.

I obeyed and she was blessed and turns out had just received a call about a good friend who had been shot the night before. God’s timing and method was perfect. It was totally unexpected by me and by her, but the Lord knew what He was doing.

Other times we just miss the Lord because we can’t believe its Him moving in an unlikely way at an unlikely time. Learn to know His voice and recognize His Word. Then when the Lord begins to move in your situations you’ll recognize Him and not fear. If the Lord always showed up and did things the way you think that He should… we’ll He certainly wouldn’t be as effective as He is and we’d never grow in awe and in faith in how amazing He is. If the Lord showed up in your life or situation in a way you didn’t expect or understand, would you be afraid? Or would you recognize that it was the Lord, celebrate, and fear not?

Leave a Reply

 
